Time for hardcore studying!!

It’s been so long since I’ve posted on here… mainly because once midterms hit I was overwhelmed with other work and haven’t been able to study Korean as much as I’d like. Now that I’ve finally finished my undergrad (woo!!), it’s definitely time to get back to hardcore Korean studying. TOPIK is only 17 days away! Ahhh!!

To be honest I’m not really sure where to begin… my flashcards app has definitely been piling up my “due” cards, so I need to get on that. After that, I need to focus on my writing, because I think the writing portion could be my downfall. The problem is coming up with topics that are advanced enough to be good practice, while also not being ridiculous… like come on, TOPIK #23, “talk about desirable human relationships”? Whaaat?

So my plan for today is to get through at least half of my 1350 due cards (ahhh), and write up an answer to a previous test question that I haven’t tackled yet, and post it to lang-8. After that I need to do some more of the grammar exercises in my advanced grammar book.

Okay, here goes!!

4 thoughts on “Time for hardcore studying!!

  1. “my advanced grammar book”. Hmm… I think I’m gonna look around and find out about the book you mentioned here. Or you could just tell me. ^^

    • jubirang says:

      Haha! Of course. It’s this book: http://www.kyobobook.co.kr/product/detailViewKor.laf?mallGb=KOR&ejkGb=KOR&linkClass=530909&barcode=9788971419656. It was really helpful for me while I was studying for the advanced TOPIK test, because most of the advanced grammar forms on the test aren’t included in other textbooks. It was critical for me because I don’t speak another East Asian language so since there aren’t any English resources online for advanced grammar, I was really stumped on how to study for the test. But for people who speak Chinese and Japanese, there are a lot of websites that deal with the advanced grammar on TOPIK so they might be okay without it. Then again having a textbook that packages the info for you is always nice. I think it comes in other languages too. Hope that helps!

      • Thank you. I already have that book. I read it once but didn’t retain anything. I need to read it again. ^^

      • jubirang says:

        Yeah it definitely takes some studying of the grammar patterns in order to retain them. I found the TOPIK questions from previous tests at the back weren’t that helpful since they were all from reeeeeally old tests haha.

Leave a Reply

